UA College of Engineeering

Jeff Gray, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

University of Alabama
Department of Computer Science
Box 870290
Tuscaloosa, AL  35487-0290

Office: 2019-C Shelby Hall
Phone: 205-348-2847  
Fax: 205-348-0219

Maps and photos: Shelby Hall and SEC


Outreach Events

Alabama Robotics Competition, April 2013

Alabama Summer Computer Camps, Summer 2013


Academic Biography

Jeff Gray is an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Alabama (UA) and a member of the newly formed Software Engineering Group. He is a National Science Foundation CAREER award winner and was named the 2008 Alabama Professor of the Year. Jeff is a Senior member of both the ACM and IEEE, and he currently serves as the chair of the Alabama IEEE Computer Society. He was formerly an Associate Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), where he co-directed the Software Composition and Modeling (SoftCom) laboratory with Dr. Barrett Bryant.

He received a Ph.D. in Computer Science in May of 2002 from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. While at Vanderbilt, Jeff was a research assistant at the Institute for Software Integrated Systems (ISIS), where he worked on the DARPA Program Composition for Embedded Systems (PCES) project. He also worked on a tool integration project at ISIS that was funded by Boeing. Jeff's thesis advisor was Dr. Steve Schach, and his dissertation committee members were Dr. Janos Sztipanovits, Dr. Gabor Karsai, Dr. Larry Dowdy, Dr. Mike Fitzpatrick, and Dr. Fritz Barnes

In 1991, he graduated summa cum laude with a BS in Computer Science from West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia. Jeff completed the undergraduate degree in three years and was a WVU Honors Student. As an undergraduate, he made the Dean's list every semester and was named a WVU Arts and Sciences Scholar in 1990 and 1991 (1 of 25 students from over 3,000). In 1993, he received an MS in Computer Science (also from WVU). His MS advisor was Dr. Murali Sitaraman and his thesis committee members were Dr. Frances Van Scoy and Dr. Doug Harms.

Jeff graduated high school in 1988 from the Linsly School (founded in 1814), in Wheeling, West Virginia. He was a member of the last all-male graduating class before the school went coed. His research mentors at Linsly were Dr. Garth Innocenti and Mr. Mike Chokel. At Union Junior High School, Mr. James Asplund and Mr. Emil Nardone gave Jeff his first opportunity to explore the joys of computing.

Other additional information about Jeff is available here.

Current/Previous Funding

Below is a summary of external awards over $10k on which I serve(d) as PI or co-PI. A summary of all research grants can be found here.

Active Awards:

Previous Awards:

Committees and Editorships

Below is a list of conferences in which I serve as organizer or program committee member in the upcoming year. A more detailed list of these events, as well as an archive of past events, is available here.

MODELS 2013, VL/HCC 2013, AOSD 2013, ICSE 2013, VaMoS 2013, COVE 2013, MOBS 2013, MISE 2013, VOLT 2013, ICMT 2013, VARICOMP 2013, SLE 2013, ECMFA 2013, GMLD 2013, GlobalDSL 2013


MODELS 2013 is in Miami, FL!


I currently serve as an Associate Editor of Software and Systems Modeling, a Springer journal.


Current Students


Amber Krug

Songqing Yue

Jonathan Corley

Dr. Mokter Hossain

Previous Students

Dr. Yuehua Lin

(Summer 2007)

Dr. Hui Wu

(Fall 2007)

Dr. Suman Roychoudhury
(Summer 2008)

Dr. Jing Zhang

(Spring 2009)

Dr. Robert Tairas

(Summer 2010)


Dr. Yu Sun
(Fall 2011)

  Dr. Ferosh Jacob
(Spring 2013)

Dr. Hyun Cho
(Spring 2013)

Previous Postdocs

Dr. Frédéric Jouault
(Univ. Nantes/INRIA)

Dr. J. Eduardo Rivera
(Universidad de Malaga)

Dr. Romain Delamare


Previous Fulbright Student

Dr. Tomaž Lukman
(Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia) (2009-2010)